Waukesha County Community Foundation logo

Celebration of Giving

Marilyn and Gene Baus, 2023 winner of the Celebration of Giving Award

About the award

In 2006, The Waukesha County Community Foundation established the Celebration of Giving Award to salute philanthropy in Waukesha County.

The award honors individuals who have exhibited charitable giving to nonprofit organizations in Waukesha County and beyond, and who encourage others to contribute by example or through volunteer activity.

Honorees exhibit significant charitable giving personally, through a private foundation or a privately-held business.

Past award recipients

  • 2023 – Gene and Marilyn Baus
  • 2022 – The Fotsch Family
  • 2021 – John Macy
  • 2019 – Bev Chappie
  • 2018 – Ken Riesch
  • 2017 – Betty and Tom Arndt
  • 2016 – Fred Stier
  • 2015 – Peter Lettenberger and Bryce Styza
  • 2014 – Dick and Carol Richards
  • 2013 – Tony and Andrea Bryant
  • 2012 – John and Lorraine McAdams and Family
  • 2011 – Thomas and Maripat Dalum
  • 2010 – A. William and Joanne B. Huelsman
  • 2009 – Steve and Heather Ziegler and InPro Corporation
  • 2008 – Don and Carol Taylor
  • 2007 – R. David Helling MD and Bonnie Birk PhD
  • 2006 – Robert and Patricia Kern
Watch this video to learn more about the Baus’ generosity

2022 Grants

2022 Grants Awarded

A High Standard for Community Foundations

The National Standards program was established to ensure the values of community foundations are demonstrated through their commitment to legal compliance, philanthropic best practices and excellence that benefits communities. It builds capacity to carry out missions and it makes community foundations distinctive from other types of organizations.